Helping you find government information and services

School term dates

Find out about the current year and next year's term dates for Australia's state and territory government schools.

You should confirm with schools directly about specific dates, including pupil-free days.

Australian Capital Territory

2016

  • Term12016
    Mon 1 Feb 2016 – Fri 8 Apr 2016Teachers commence Thursday 28 January 2016.
  • Term22016
    Tue 26 Apr 2016 – Fri 1 Jul 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 18 Jul 2016 – Fri 23 Sep 2016
  • Term42016
    Mon 10 Oct 2016 – Fri 16 Dec 2016

2017

  • Term12017
    Fri 27 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Students commence Monday 30 January 2017.
  • Term22017
    Wed 26 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 17 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017

New South Wales

2016

  • Term12016
    Thu 28 Jan 2016 – Fri 8 Apr 2016Eastern Division, Teachers commence Wednesday 27 January 2016.
  • Term12016
    Thu 4 Feb 2016 – Fri 8 Apr 2016Western Division, Teachers commence Wednesday 3 February 2016.
  • Term22016
    Wed 27 Apr 2016 – Fri 1 Jul 2016Teachers commence Tuesday 26 April 2016.
  • Term32016
    Tue 19 Jul 2016 – Fri 23 Sep 2016Teachers commence Monday 18 July 2016.
  • Term42016
    Mon 10 Oct 2016 – Fri 16 Dec 2016Teachers finish Tuesday 20 December 2016.

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Eastern Division, Teachers commence Friday 27 January 2017.
  • Term12017
    Mon 6 Feb 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Western Division, Teachers commence Friday 3 February 2017.
  • Term22017
    Wed 26 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017Teachers commence Monday 24 April 2017.
  • Term32017
    Tue 18 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017Teachers commence Monday 17 July 2017.
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017Teachers finish Tuesday 19 December 2017.

Northern Territory

2016

  • Term12016
    Fri 22 Jan 2016 – Fri 1 Apr 2016Urban Schools, Students resume Monday 25 January
  • Term12016
    Mon 25 Jan 2016 – Fri 1 Apr 2016Remote Schools, Students resume Wednesday 27 January.
  • Term22016
    Mon 11 Apr 2016 – Fri 24 Jun 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 25 Jul 2016 – Fri 30 Sep 2016Students resume Tuesday 26 July
  • Term42016
    Mon 10 Oct 2016 – Thu 15 Dec 2016Urban Schools
  • Term42016
    Mon 10 Oct 2016 – Fri 16 Dec 2016Remote Schools

2017

  • Term12017
    Fri 27 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Urban Schools, Students resume Monday 30 January
  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 7 Apr 2017Remote Schools, Students resume Tuesday 31 January
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 23 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017Students resume Tuesday 25 July
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Thu 14 Dec 2017Urban Schools
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017Remote Schools

Queensland

2016

  • Term12016
    Mon 25 Jan 2016 – Thu 24 Mar 2016
  • Term22016
    Mon 11 Apr 2016 – Fri 24 Jun 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 11 Jul 2016 – Fri 16 Sep 2016
  • Term42016
    Tue 4 Oct 2016 – Fri 9 Dec 2016Year 12 - Friday 18 November 2016; Year 10 & 11 - Friday 25 November 2016.

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 23 Jan 2017 – Fri 31 Mar 2017
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 23 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 10 Jul 2017 – Fri 15 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Tue 3 Oct 2017 – Fri 8 Dec 2017Year 12 - Friday 17 November 2017; Year 10 & 11 - Friday 24 November 2017.

South Australia

2016

  • Term12016
    Mon 1 Feb 2016 – Fri 15 Apr 2016
  • Term22016
    Mon 2 May 2016 – Fri 8 Jul 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 25 Jul 2016 – Fri 30 Sep 2016
  • Term42016
    Mon 17 Oct 2016 – Fri 16 Dec 2016

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Thu 13 Apr 2017
  • Term22017
    Mon 1 May 2017 – Fri 7 Jul 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 16 Oct 2017 – Fri 15 Dec 2017

Tasmania

2016

  • Term12016
    Wed 3 Feb 2016 – Fri 8 Apr 2016Teachers commence Monday 1 February 2016.
  • Term22016
    Tue 26 Apr 2016 – Fri 1 Jul 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 18 Jul 2016 – Fri 23 Sep 2016
  • Term42016
    Mon 10 Oct 2016 – Wed 21 Dec 2016Teachers finish Thursday 22 December 2016.

2017

  • Term12017
    Wed 8 Feb 2017 – Thu 13 Apr 2017Teachers commence Monday 6 February 2017.
  • Term22017
    Mon 1 May 2017 – Fri 7 Jul 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 24 Jul 2017 – Fri 29 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 16 Oct 2017 – Thu 21 Dec 2017Teachers finish Friday 22 December 2017.

Victoria

2016

  • Term12016
    Wed 27 Jan 2016 – Thu 24 Mar 2016First day of Term 1 is a student-free day.
  • Term22016
    Mon 11 Apr 2016 – Fri 24 Jun 2016
  • Term32016
    Mon 11 Jul 2016 – Fri 16 Sep 2016
  • Term42016
    Mon 3 Oct 2016 – Tue 20 Dec 2016

2017

  • Term12017
    Mon 30 Jan 2017 – Fri 31 Mar 2017First day of Term 1 is a student-free day.
  • Term22017
    Tue 18 Apr 2017 – Fri 30 Jun 2017
  • Term32017
    Mon 17 Jul 2017 – Fri 22 Sep 2017
  • Term42017
    Mon 9 Oct 2017 – Fri 22 Dec 2017

Western Australia

2016

2017